And I made a leaf ! – Day 2

We learnt using silver clay paste on day 2 – used it to make a silver leaf and it was the most satisfying process.  I settled on a Bougainvillea leaf .

It was a fun thing to do but rather tedious, for one needed to keep drying and re-coating the leaf with coates of silver paste to achieve a minimum of 1 mm thickness before firing the piece.  Took us a good 4 hours to get through the entire deal.

Leaves with prominent veins. I went on a rampage at our park :)

Leaves with prominent veins. I went on a rampage at our park 🙂

The first coat - the most important coat

The first coat - the most important coat

Drying in the oven (this is after the 4th coat)

Drying in the oven (this is after the 4th coat)

Ready. Not yet polished. But oh so pretty :) I wish I had a Maple leaf!

Ready after about 10 coats and post firing. Not yet polished. But oh so pretty 🙂 I wish I I had a Maple leaf!

So, ain’t it incredible? I want to find a Maple leaf as soon as possible and make one for myself. 🙂 Also, big firm leaves, work better, since they don’t burn off and aren’t too brittle.  We also learnt the Syringe method. But that’s for the next post.

Until next post, then!