Silver Metal Art Clay Fabrication – Day 1

True to what I promised, to many of you, here’s my first post on day 1 of my course. It was an exciting day and I ended up making a ring and two pendants using Silver Art Clay.

What is Silver Art Clay?
In very simple words, Silver Art Clay is just like play dough, comprising of silver, water and organic binders. Just like play dough, you play around with this clay, make your desired piece of art, dry it, refine it and then fire it over stove, in a kiln, or use a butane torch at a desired temperature to get 99.9 percent pure silver. To say the least, its like magic. Who but the Japanese should come up with something so fabulous and magical technology?

The most intriguing side to the process is the fact that you end up with the purest form of silver available. Unlike Sterling silver, Which is 92.5 percent silver (other metals being copper, Titanium etc.), the silver you get after firing Art Clay is 99.9 percent pure. And what’s more, it’s non toxic!

Some images I managed to take with my iPhone. Working with clay can be rather messy, so these are the least I could get for you. Once I finish with the course, I’ll try and put together a set of finished products for you to see.

For now, take a peak at these and be amazed and impressed at how much the world has advanced in the art of jewelry making!

The Magic Clay

Unfinished Clay Ring

Unfinished Clay Ring

Firing on Stove

Firing on Stove

My table at the studio

My table at the studio

The JDMIS, Singapore, Jade room.

The JDMIS, Singapore, Jade room.

The still unfinished ring (polishing, refining, gem setting yet to be done)

The still unfinished ring (polishing, refining, gem setting yet to be done)

So far seems promising. Looking forward to the next class which will teach us Syringe methods. Excited!

