Unique Indeed >>Krassimira Iordanova’s Anokha!

When I saw Krassimira’s site – Anokha, I knew I wanted to know her, more. I wanted to know what prompted a Bulgarian to set up an online silver jewelery store and stock all things Indian!  With Tracer’s introduction, I reached this lovely lady, virtually, of course, and extracted all the inspiring details about Anokha.  As you read her story, check out some of the pieces on display, on Anokha.

Silveratti: A Bulgarian, living in Germany influenced by India and how! Tell us the story, Krassimira.

Krassimira: Through my eyes, the majority of Germany women, compared to the women in India, do not wear a lot of jewellery and when they do, it is plain,  and in a way, conservative- from a very simple ring, a pair of stud earrings to a plain necklace and ….well, that’s it….But I noticed that the women I met like the designs of the jewellery from India, not the ostentatious ones, not the classic jhumki-style earrings or the kundan jewellery, but the simpler, yet unique Indian designs…

Striking bold and elegant works in silver, distinctive skills of the makers and their intricate techniques, several of which are found only on the continent is what has fascinated me during my travel through India.  And this is how I came to the idea…Indian jewellery in Germany with unique designs for the working contemporary woman.

Stiff silver bangle bracelet with a design from the Mughal era, from Jyotika

Stiff silver bangle bracelet with a design from the Mughal era, from Jyotika

 
Leather bracelet with Silver from Anika

Leather bracelet with Silver from Anika

Silveratti: What does Anokha mean to you?
Krassimira: Here is my personal story: It is Monday morning, 8:30am and I’m a in a rush to be in the office on time. And although I’m ready to step out of the door, I have the feeling something is missing…what is missing is this final touch- it is a ring or a pair of earrings, a bracelet or a necklace that matches the colors of my outfit and gives me this final touch of elegance. These pieces of jewellery, I believe, is what underlines my style and makes me feel special….Vanity, isn’t it?

You want to have something that no one else owns…these are your fragments of joy….that sometimes make your day….

A beautiful, garnet silver ring by Mira

A beautiful, garnet silver ring by Mira

 

'Rain ring' - a beautifully designed silver ring with gold plated drops by Avasa

'Rain ring' - a beautifully designed silver ring with gold plated drops by Avasa

Silveratti: Where do you source your jewellery from? Do you have designers working for you?

Krassimira:I work with designers whose jewellery pieces I buy. I work on some designs myself that have a bit of Indian spice, a bit of Bulgarian flavor, lots of imagination and endless passion….Anokha is not about the latest fashion. It is about jewellery pieces which are like talismans for the woman who wears them.

Neckpiece from ladakh by Sunitha

Neck piece from Ladakh, by Sunitha

Oxidized silver necklace from Kerela by Rani

Oxidized silver necklace from Kerela by Rani

Silveratti: Is it only Silver that fascinates you, or do you like working with other metals like Gold, Platinum etc.?

 Krassimira: It is silver. It matches to various outfits; can be worn during the day or in a more formal venue…it is elegant and stylish…

Leaf shaped wooden earings decorated with silver bits, by chuchu

Leaf shaped wooden earrings decorated with silver bits, by Chuchu

 

Silver earrings with black Oynx by Priyanka

Silver earrings with black Onyx by Priyanka

 

Tyra's silver earrings with coronaliun

Tyra's silver earrings with coronaliun

Silveratti: How did you decide on the name Anokha?

Krassimira: I was searching for a name that is easy to remember, easy to type in and has origins in Sanskrit. On my shortlist were Karishma, Kriti and Anokha. But Anokha represents best my idea about this jewellery. Anokha means “unique” in Hindi and so is my collection: inspired by the craftsmanship and traditions of the Indian jewellery designers. What makes this collection so special to us, Europeans, is the touch of India!

 

Amala's exquisite wooden handmade ring and necklace with slver bits

Amala's exquisite wooden handmade ring and necklace with silver bits

Black Oynx silver sing by udita

Black Onyx silver sing by Udita

Silveratti: Will you be retailing or this is going to be limited to an online venture?


Krassimira:
I will try retailing as well. Selling jewellery online has its challenges: typically women would like to put a ring on to see how it fits, try a pair of earrings and see how they match….this cannot be done online. To be honest, I haven’t found the recipe for success for the online sales yet… I’m not giving up….

Bracelet with flower motifs by Malika

Bracelet with flower motifs by Malika

 

Silver Hoops by Bidisha

Silver Hoops by Bidisha

Silveratti: How is the response to Anokha in Germany?

Krassimira: So far very positive…about which I’m not surprised 🙂

 

Makes me want to go right back to India and set up my eternal dream silver boutique. Hope you enjoyed meeting Krassimira! And for those who are wondering what this beautiful name possibly means- it is Bulgarian for ‘A beautiful World’. 

 

So long, then!

XX

