Come, see Australia through silver coins!

When I was very young, my grandma gave me a big pouch of coins from Nepal and China, that would help me compete with my brother’s massive stamp collection.  Collecting coins ended as a childhood fancy, but I now wish I had saved those coins. I suddenly feel like pursuing a hobby, especially after I came across this. Needless to say, my heart skipped a beat to see  the silver coin range. I am all tipsy with excitement, and frantically posting, for you to see. Hope you enjoy this.

The Perth Mint’s collection of Gold, Silver and Platinum coins are astounding.  Representing all things Australian, the designs of the silver ones are clean, beautiful and even cute, if  may use the word. The categories include – The Dreaming Series, Australian Koala, Australian Lunar, Treasures of Australia, Landmarks of Australia, Lunar Series, Antarctic Territory series & Themed coins. The collection is huge and delightful!  I am not too sure if this is a collector’s delight, for I don’t think they are rare, and are of fairly recent origin. But I love the fact that a country’s different facets are featured so wonderfully in the form of coins.   Take a look at some  :

Celberating 200 years of postal service in OZ land

Celebrating 200 years of postal service in OZ land

 

50 years of Television

50 years of Television

 

90th aAniversary - End of World War 1

90th anniversary - End of World War 1

 

Treasures of Autralia series- featuring Opals

Treasures of Autralia series- featuring Opals

 

Battle of Thermopylae

Battle of Thermopylae

 

Discover Australia Series

Discover Australia Series

 

Australian Football

Australian Football

 

Discover Australia- Adelaide

Discover Australia- Adelaide

 

Dreaming Turtle

Dreaming Turtle

 

The Koala - My favourite

The Koala - My favourite

 

Charles Darwin

Charles Darwin

 

Featuring Australia's Deadly & Dangerous - Red Back Spider

Featuring Australia's Deadly & Dangerous - Red Back Spider

 

50 years fo Barbie!!

50 years fo Barbie!!

 
Australian Olympic Team

Australian Olympic Team

 
Fall of the Berlin Wall

Fall of the Berlin Wall

 There is plenty more featuring almost every aspect of the beautiful continent.  Check them out yourself here.

 

